top of page

POV: Overcoming the Pressures of Joining Extracurricular Activities



As middle school and high school students, we often tend to seek experiences that could benefit us for our future endeavors, whether that be working as an intern in a company or volunteering at certain organizations. As time goes on, some sort of dark void fills into their heads which slowly starts to overcome their bodies and mind which personally, I have felt.


I grew up in a country that didn’t give opportunities for international students, like me. Still, I can vividly remember the time when I begged my parents in my sophomore year to allow me to join some extracurricular activities, so I could place them in my future applications. Sadly, they rejected my proposal due to the limited resources provided for me. Although I understand where they are coming from seeing that it was difficult to obtain experience for my age, hence, I would accept the fact that I can’t do outside services. However, whenever a college representative would visit our school to discuss specific details regarding our application, they would always mention how significant extracurricular activities are in order to prepare yourself for the future because it gives you crucial experience and helps you gain skills. This information caused me to feel enormous pressure, like a void. The void made up inside my head has created immense tension, which causes me to lose balance in terms of focusing on my studies. It feels as if I’m carrying a giant rock behind my back, the pressure I hold each day to satisfy my desire needs for the future that is proclaimed to be unpredictable for every human being.


Over time, I realized that this void had slowly taken over me, which included both my physical and mental stability. For instance, there would be days where I would have an assignment due, but instead of working on it, I would focus the whole day searching for activities that I can do remotely. My mind was filled with nervousness, to the point that I felt that I couldn't do anything, because other students seemed to have their lives altogether. There were times that my family friends would ask me about what I do outside of school, and my response would change most of the time like studying or nothing at all. But later on, the pressure that builds up within me would slowly change as I talk it out with my family or relaxing the tensions I have first initiated. Time management does help a lot, but it does not necessarily make me feel complete.


Lately, I have started to realize that extracurricular activities are highly important, but not everyone is capable of handling them all at once. So, here are some of my personal advice and realizations that I have noticed when overcoming this pressure:


1. ) They Don’t Last Forever

As mentioned, I understood how important extracurriculars are as a part of our curriculum, but when time passes by, you would see this as an activity that could only benefit you through your career. You may take this satisfaction as a job, but in terms of joining for middle or high school activities, it’s just a one-sided relationship that will only be used for applications. It may sound harsh, however, if it stresses on you a lot, it may be a sign to take a step back.


2.) Take It Slowly

I suggest that upcoming high school students take it slowly when joining a club, voluntary service, or internships since those activities will always be there, depending on where you are. Remember, your mental and physical health comes first, so make sure to keep those as your priority!


3.) Not Everyone Has The Same goal

Now, this advice gave me a newfound perspective regarding extracurriculars, and thus it is what kept me persevering. . As stated previously, certain activities are highly competitive. However, every single person in your life has a different goal in their life. They might not necessarily have the same reasons to join a certain extracurricular as you. Their decisions shouldn’t reflect on yours as well, because that’s your priority and no one else’s. At the end of the day, it is your path to choose, and that’s what makes you who you are today!


4.) Join an Activity That Makes You Happy

All my high school life, I have been pressured to join random clubs that honestly didn’t really exceed my expectations. The reason I stayed in those kinds of clubs was that I needed them for my recommendation letters, and for the experience. However, it stressed me a lot, and it was difficult to adjust to while balancing my academic studies. Hence, I decided to leave, not because I wanted to, but because I needed to. My happiness is the source of my energy, and it’s also listed as one of my main priorities. Don’t add a stressful deed if it does not make you happy.


Overcoming these pressures wasn’t exactly easy. It takes time to recognize that our world functions differently, whether you are an international student or not. I realized that certain responsibilities and pressures will start to build up and that’s totally fine. We’re bound to make mistakes and deal with obstacles in our way because we’re human. Everyone’s point-of-view is different, whether one can do extracurricular activities or not. This is your path to decide and it will be an outcome of your life. But remember, the main priority should always be your health and happiness


Edited By: Khushi Kumari




About Julean Palpallatoc:

Julean (she/her) is a rising freshman college student from the Philippines who was born and raised in Saudi Arabia. She loves to read and write during her free time and sometimes, joining activities too!


103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page