top of page

How I Balance My Life as a Student Vlogger

Updated: Nov 6, 2020

“Vlogging isn’t just a job, it’s a lifestyle” (Vlogging Quotes). Being a student by itself is hard since you have to balance your studies with family, extracurriculars, friends, and other responsibilities. Being a student-vlogger is harder, not only do you have to balance everything in your life, but you have to keep up with your uploading schedule and constantly putting out content. I’ve been a student-vlogger since May 2017. At first, it was difficult since you’re not really used to being in front of the camera, sharing a part of your life for the public to see it, but as time went by, I get used to being in front of my camera (actually my phone since I only vlog with phone and I don’t have a camera) and simply taking to my audience like I’m talking to a friend.


I enjoy vlogging my life as a student since every person has a different student experience, and I want to share mine on my platform; YouTube. Some YouTubers drop out of high school and continue their career as a full-time YouTuber. Although that may seem like a good option, the reality is that we all need education for our future. That’s why I chose to share my life as a student; to convince others not to drop out of school (even though school is not for everyone), for them to feel encouraged, and understand student life.


I have been an honors student since 11th grade (I am currently a straight-A student in 12th grade) and I try to balance my priorities between vlogging and being a student. I try to vlog while I study so that I feel accountable for my actions. I became a more productive student when I started vlogging my life consistently last October 2019. It gave me more inspiration to be a better student and a better vlogger since I know what I can share on the internet, for example: studying for tests, doing assignments, moments with my friends, events happening in school, and just some random moments inside the classroom. Sometimes when I study, I watch other student-vloggers on YouTube like Alyanna Ross, Katie Tracy (Philippines), Yoora Jung, Christine Lee, Lisa Phan, Linh Truong (USA), and many more. I feel better when I vlog while I study, especially during exams because I feel like I get things done. Sometimes I plan my vlogs on other videos that I will film for that week, whether it’s a “week in my life” or a sit-down chit-chat video.


If I were to give advice to people who aspire to be a student-vlogger, I would say go for it! It can really change your life. For me, being a student-vlogger led me to become a better student in school and a better person in general. It’s okay if you miss an upload or two during your first months of vlogging but that is the catch of becoming a vlogger staying consistent with uploading on your platform. Overall, it is an enjoyable experience, and your life can change as a whole. I encourage you to become a student-vlogger to show people the other perspectives of being a student-vlogger.


References

Vlogging Quotes. Facebook, 1 Aug. 2018,

6770389760/. Accessed 3 October 2020.



Edited by Ally Chan.

 

Liannah is one of the blog writers for Just For You Tutoring. She is a senior in Milpitas high school in California. She likes Kpop but especially, Girls Generation, EXO, and Red Velvet. She enjoys writing, Youtube, vlogging, and makeup.









112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page